We are really curious what you think about us and our products, so do not hesitate and leave comment.


Refresh

Comments  

#154 Premium 1X Cyclocross 110/4 bcd oval chainringAlastair Merrill 2019-09-19 15:26
Ordered yesterday, and was really hoping that the new chainring would arrive in time for a Hill Climb event this weekend... it arrived today! Amazing service, and a really good looking high quality piece of kit. Hoping it will help me glide up the gradients in the races! Thanks so much :)
#153 Premium oval ring 52t racing redShawn 2019-09-08 01:22
Absolutely amazing. I’ve only ridden 25 miles on it so far, first ride nearly 16 achievements on Strava and nearly 30mph max. Most importantly it FEELS better, more efficient! I feel like NONE of my power is being lost! It’s insane, and super sexy on the bike.
#152 AB NW Oval 36 T 104 BCDMartin B 2019-08-15 20:40
When I thought about moving to 1x12 on my HT XC bike, I was curious about trying oval chainring. I waited for XT M8100 to be available and then I paired it with NW Oval. It was really great idea and I love oval. It helps me with "round" pedalling and helsp in steep uphills. At this time, I have about 300 km with my oval and I am really happy. I am thinking about buying small oval chainring to my 2x11 gravel bike.
#151 46-30 Oval ChainsetSteve 2019-08-05 21:59
At 72 my best days might be in the distant past but I still managed around 6000 miles on the road each of the past couple of years. Climbs were getting pretty difficult however, which led me to consider even lower gearing (Ultegra 6800 50-34 chainset with 11-32 cassette). The Absolute Black 30 tooth small ring has made a huge difference but the real surprise was the way the oval rings improved my pedaling in the big ring. Pedaling seems effortless.

No e-bike for me!
With over 600 miles on the setup I couldn't be more pleased. Setup with Ultegra 6800 works just fine. Highly recommend.
#150 Absolute Black 34T Oval MTB and 52/36T Oval Road ChainringsCorne 2019-07-26 13:46
After significant research I finally went with the 34T Oval as part of my 1x12 upgrade to my MTB. Let’s start by saying oval chainrings do not give you more power in relation to FTP, only training can do that, a misconception I seemed to come across in many reviews or opinion poll when trying to counter their benefits.

If you understand that cycling has a lot to do with efficiency and therefore performance gains you will be hard pressed not to be convinced that an oval is the way to go. I have personally experienced many of the benefits claimed, a much "rounder" pedal stroke, better power delivery and an ability to hold power values for longer efforts, riding a higher gear, climbing technical terrain with ease and overall just a much more enjoyable ride !!!

I have been so impressed with these rings that I purchased the 52/36T ovals for my road bike today. Very highly recommended. Thank you AbsoluteBlack for a great quality product, that performs the way it was intended to.
#149 OVAL boost 148 chainring for SRAM 32T BlackSylvain 2019-07-25 23:39
WoW delivery from Poland to Canada (1hr Montreal area) took 3 days only. This oval is really great !!!
#148 Oval Boost148 narrow wide chainring for SRAM 32TLajos 2019-07-08 10:47
First impressions: after 60 km, the effective cadence range is wider. The upphill speed and feeling increased. Overall the chainring is OK.
#147 Sram Oval ChainringJuan 2019-07-05 05:47
I love the product, was skeptical a first but after the first ride I was sold, easier climbing and super smooth, I went back to normal circle chainring for a bit just to compare and I felt a huge difference, I would never go back to a normal chainring again.
#146 39T OvalPhil 2019-06-29 22:41
Customer Service by Santiago was first rate, fast and very helpful. I would recommend doing an even swap round to oval. I was shocked how quickly I received the product in the states!

Installed with new chain and did a couple of test climbs. I didn't really feel a difference per se...oval to round, but my legs felt the difference. I seemed to float up the climbs, standing. I was also able to float up climbs seated in a bigger gear than normal and no fatigue in the legs.

As others have said, my pedal stroke seems much more efficient (and I thought it was already pretty efficient)

Great product, great customer service. A very happy customer! Thank you!
#145 Absolute Black 48t & 32t oval sub-compactJeff 2019-06-29 17:35
Okay, so here’s the deal. Don’t just jump on the bike and expect to experience an instant change. Rather, as you ride ‘feel’ for the difference. Believe me, it’s there. Granted, like all things, you’ll get used to it and might not realize the difference but rest assured it’s there.

The two differences I felt was exactly what absoluteBlack says to expect with this sub-compact set up. The first is the climbs. Don’t kid yourselves, you still have to apply force on the pedal to get uphill but there’s a certain ease on those power strokes.

Cadence is smoother than you would expect. And despite what your friends might think as you pedal, no - you will not be riding like a pony on a merry-go-round.
#144 Sub-compact 46/30Jean 2019-06-25 05:07
OMG! Finally! Climbing gearing for “regular” riders who need help climbing! Beautifully crafted and easy for our local bike shop to install. Husband and I both had them installed on our Trek Domane’s with Ultegra R8020 Cranks. Took them on their maiden voyage on a 65 mile gravel ride with lots of short and punchy climbs. Gearing made the ride easier and much more fun! Highly recommend these rings!!
#143 30 tooth MTB RINGDavid 2019-06-22 12:03
Hi I have the 30 mtb ring and I am finding it very very good apart from riding on the flat as the maximum speed I can get is 18 - 20 mph and so can you tell me when you get a double bigger ring
#142 cx 40t 110bcd 4boltJules 2019-06-05 17:08
bought a 40t chain ring for a 1x project im building. took less than a week for the item to reach Manila. great job guys. thank you :-)
#141 winter chainringsRoger dodg3 2019-05-22 15:38
I purchased a set of oval chain rings 34/50 for my 105 giant defy 1 crank and rode them for 2 weeks.my pedal stroke felt smoother but it did take a short ride out to get used to them and i was always looking down to my disbelief how this could work and my legs felt less sore after riding regardless how long or short the ride was. My pedal stroke is more smooth & the dead spots have almost gone . I now have purchased another set & put absolute black winter chain rings 36/52 on my other giant bike Tcr. the oval chain rings work for me in the smoothness and the riding up hill was a ease & i seem to have more energy when out with riding buddies. now i have the best of both 34/50 & 52/36 on my bikes & i cant recommend these chain rings enough to cycling buddies who have notice that my riding style has changed for the better when out on group rides.
#140 Sub Compact 48-32T for Specialized Roubaix Di2-Ultegra FC8000ALLAN 2019-05-05 01:35
Ordered the oval chain ring 48-32T and installed on Ultgera Di2 group sets to replaced the round 50-34T round chain rings. I did not like the oval chain rings but I LOVED them instead. It's so easy to pedal on hilly and flat rides. There are huge differences than the standard round chain rings. No knee pain and legs are fresh after my hilly ride today. The best bike upgrades on my bike and will order another compact oval rings for my Pinarello. I will never go back to round chain rings. Hands down to absoluteBlack for these technology they created.
#139 48-32 Sub compactRICARDO 2019-04-01 19:42
OMG ! All I can say I was very impress with my first Century, I get carrion on with group A average speed 24.8 on 50 mile and the I stop to refuel they did not stop , So I reach high speed of 32.3 mph very impress cadence higher of 128 , my legs feel good . Good improvement.
#138 5 Bolt Compact Rings for Specialized Crank 50/34Adam 2019-03-11 16:48
I moved from the relatively flat New Jersey shore area to Hunterdon County last year. Back in the old neighborhood a 40 mile ride would typically have 1,000 to 1,600 feet of climbing. In the new neighborhood it's more like 3,000 to 3,500 feet with plenty of 12-16% and long climbs of 3-8%.

My SWORKS Venge was set up with mid-compact 52-36 and DA 11-28. Just not enough gearing for for the big hills.

I switched to absoluteBlack oval chainrings in compact 50-34. The small ring varies in equivalent torque between 32 and 36 depending on the position of the pedals. It works very, very well on the climbs! It saves your legs in the weak part of the stroke and puts the effort into the strong part.

What I like best is that I can sustain higher wattages at higher cadence. On some of the flats I kept looking down at the Garmin thinking, "I can't sustain this..." but I was wrong. For the same heart beat level I was generating 200 to 220 watts versus 160-180 with the old setup.

Very highly recommended.

I also just tried "sub-compact" 46-30 on my Bontrager - but that is a bridge too far. Yes it's great going uphill, but it spins out at 110rpm around 30mph or so. So for my location with my power output compact oval seems to be the way to go.

I have no affiliation with absoluteBlack. I stumbled upon their website and liked the price point and the science behind the product. I would be curious to hear what other people have to say about oval chainrings, as well as cadence and gearing on the hills.
#137 Ovals on Etap / Force CX1 / Eagle XX1Marc 2019-02-10 01:15
Started with my first oval chainring on the MTB, got used to it in the first km’s already. CX/Gravel and Roadbike followed suit. Very convinced, definitely improved my climbing and relieved me from back and knee pain.
#136 PREMIUM OVAL ROAD 110/5 BCD CHAINRING FOR SRAMBrett 2019-01-21 06:14
I ride AB 52/36 (red) ovals on my Specialized Venge. I am sold.

I find the entire pedal stroke much smoother, particularly uphill. I also find I can get out of the saddle for longer periods (I'm a big guy.)

The 36 tooth inner ring works well for me. I'm confident I can get my conditioning right for the 36 over a standard compact 34 and the smaller gap (50/36 vs 50/34) makes for a better shift pattern for me.

There are only two things I'd call for:
- working on the chainring shifting for eTap - it works but it can be a bit temperamental
- produce the big ring in a white option - dirt and grease never shows on the red ring. I'm sure you could achieve the same in white
#135 Sub Compact Oval chainring SetMike 2019-01-15 14:52
Hi Guys,
just wanted to say what a terrific bit of kit these Oval chain sets are. I went for the 46-30 set which bolted straight onto my 105 cranks, and all went back on my bike with no issues. On the road, and on the hills especially, the drive is smooth and quiet. I believe that for a 55yr old rider, this set up has helped with my lack of power, and is smoother on my knees and legs.
Also, in the "champagne" colour they look the "AbsoluteBollocks" !!!!
One of the best add-on bits of kit i have bought. Highly recommended.
Mike.
#134 RaceFace OVAL boost148Marc 2019-01-10 00:25
I ride a Rocky Mountain Blizzard 50 Fat Bike. The thing is a monster truck! It's really fun to ride but understandably a beast to peddle up hill. After putting aB OVAL on the RaceFace boost148 I immediately noticed a difference in effort level. I don't feel like I'm massing on the peddles when climbing and it feels like the same speed with less effort. A huge thumbs up for absoluteBlack. I just spoiled myself with a new bike and I will again be buying another OVAL from aB!
#133 42t oval cxkeith mcdowell 2018-11-27 19:15
Hi after putting 52/36 on my road bike I wanted to change the rings on my CX bike for the winter my LBS persuaded me to go 1x hence the 42t oval c/r absolutely perfect I,m so enjoying my riding and as on my road bike no sore knees or back at 62 years of age I feel re born.
#132 48/32 Sub compact chain ringsGary 2018-11-15 11:03
Hello,
As an English cyclist living in the shadow of the Pyrénées, I was more than a little disappointed to find that I had calcification in the arteries in my heart last spring. Some surgery and a little convalescence followed and I was given the all clear to ride again, but ‘doucement’. Not easy in a region where all roads rise and fall.
I purchased a set of your sub compact rings, 48/32. Fitting was simple, adjusting was easy.
In use, they shift as smoothly as I want (I run UltegraDi2). They allow me to continue to ride without undue stress where perhaps I might not be able to otherwise. Thank you!
#131 50/34 Oval for Shimano SoraSteve 2018-09-23 00:42
Yes, it does work on 9 sp!
Knee pain (not debilitating, but annoying) went away. Feel like I don't pedal squares when tired. Front ring shifts seem to go smoother/quicker, as well. Having a 38 tooth 1x installed next week on the CX/Gravel bike (11 sp.). Color me impressed!
#130 Oval chainrings MTB and RaceTheo 2018-09-08 19:41
Last winter I mounted an absolute oval chainring on my MTB bike and the result was great. My legs were less tired after heavy training, hills seemed less steep, speeding up is a party. Assembly was very simple. After the winter period I also provided my Road bike with a cranckset with two oval chainrings. Again the same result, but I could ride a bigger resistance in the mountains with less effort.
Super product, just do not understand why not everyone drives this.
#129 AB Oval Road RingsJoe 2018-09-04 00:00
Love these, just purchased my third set as i wanted a 52/36 as well as my compact sets. They work like a dream and look fantastic . Unlike other brands of ovals AB have designed their chainrings to match/ blend with your existing cranks. Brilliant job guys and thanks! Ooh and customer service has been superb too!
#128 Oval Sub compact 46/30Nathan 2018-08-30 18:20
Changing to oval 46/30T rings made a gnarly steep local climb easier by far. The smoothness of the ovals plus the mechanical advantage of the 30T over my old 36T brought my HR down 5% and got me up the hill faster. Great service and fantastic product.
#127 Oval ChainringAndrew 2018-08-27 12:02
Stan really helped me out to pick the correct chainring. And it works fantastically! I really love it. BUTTERY SMOOTH..... BUTTERY! You gotta try out these oval chainrings. It's not a gimmick, it really works. Stan will help you out too. He is excellent. Thank you Stan!
#126 Oval Boost Cinch Chainring for Race FaceThomas 2018-08-06 22:21
Today out on my ride I made it up a steep climb that I haven't made in quite a few years, back then I was riding a 100mm FS XC bike, today I'm on a 160/140 trail bike and am also about 60 lbs heavier, I tried this climb when I first got the new bike and was only able to make it about 1/3 of the way up, today was the first time since I got the AB Oval that I attempted it, and I was surprised that I was able to make it up the climb, no wheel spin just planted, after today, I will never go back to a round ring again, and I could not recommend Absolute Black Oval Rings Higher.
#125 chainrings for Sram red c/setkeith 2018-06-25 20:20
Absolutely the best.
I have had an ongoing back problem and thought these rings could ease the strain on my lower back. YES they did and they have me back to enjoying my cycling again. No scientific data just pain free enjoyment.
happy days
#124 Premium Oval RoadBill 2018-05-31 05:04
Thought that I'd try them and if I didn't like them I could put the Ultegra rings back on. The Ultegras are now for sale,. Very easy installation and no problems tuning the front Di2 front Derailleur. The Absolute Blacks give a smoother pedal stroke and I can't prove it, but I swear they're faster and climbing is easier.
Great product - Many thanks
Bill
#123 SS cog + Oval 34t 104 ringSam 2018-05-21 01:19
20t SS cog on the rear and 34t oval ring on the front of my Trek Single-speed. Service and advice from the absoluteBLACK team have been awesome. Shipping to New Zealand was RAPID.
An awesome combo, great ratio and both being NW should eliminate any chain issues. Variance in chain tension with the oval is minimal and makes no impact, drive train is silent and performed flawlessly on my initial rides. Very happy
#122 ChainringEddie 2018-05-02 04:03
Ok, I admit it. I was one of the people that bitched and said Shimano did this with Biopace and it sucked. However, I road a friend’s bike with one of your chainrings and it was enough to get me to buy one for myself.

I just installed a 36 tooth chainring and it made such a huge difference, and I couldn't tell in the pedal stroke.

I am convinced and impressed.

Well done!
#121 16T and 18T SS CogsOscar 2018-02-27 10:25
Some great service here to go with the great products. I have just purchased 2x SS cogs, online order placed last Friday afternoon, arrived at my door this (Tuesday) morning - less than 2 week days to the other side of the planet. Wow!
As always the presentation/packaging of the products is top shelf.
Coupled with this has been the excellent advice I have been getting from the technical staff regarding cog and chain maintenance.
I am one happy repeat customer.
#120 Oval 28 OVAL DM chainring, SRAM GXPneil b. 2018-01-17 13:41
HI, I've been using a 32 ring for a long while with my 1x10 setup now (its lasting amazingly well). Last Winter I took off the 32 oval and put on an old 28 non oval AbsBlack ring. Its very slippy here and that means its hard to stand and climb when it gets steep so a lower gear is needed. Well, the 28 didn’t seem significantly easier to pedal than the 32 oval, but I left it on for the Winter anyway as the mud here really can grind parts.
Summer '17 meant the 32 went back on, great. I love the "oval" feel. A month ago I fitted a new AbsBlack 28 Oval.
Wow, it's just amazing on climbs. I can even stand to pedal as it just seems so much smother and more grippy than last Winter's non oval 28.
Oval mis the way forward.
#119 Oval 36 tooth 104 BCD GreenSean 2018-01-12 19:59
I started with the 34t oval ring and 10-42 cassette. I could finish climbs that I couldn’t finish before. I felt like a goat. I had the power I needed to make a hard climb. Changing to a 36t to see if I can gain more speed on flat single track. The AB oval ring works!
#118 Oval Road 110/4 BCDJeff 2017-10-31 21:13
I recently upgraded my KTM Revelator with the Absolute Black Oval Raod Chain rings. They definitely make climbing easier but it also helped with my occasional knee pain. On my previous long distance rides (55 and 66 miles) I had some knee pain towards the end. This pat Saturday I did 100 miles with no pain at all. These rings simply work and improve pedal stroke without the knee strain I used to get
#117 30t ovalEnrico 2017-10-29 23:45
first ride with the oval, 10 miles on moosic across the top, noticeable improvement on climbing, rocky med. technical stuff and flat out sections, I seemed to be running 1-2 gears higher in most instances , I will give it a conservative 5% increase in efficiency (more like 10 though)
#116 BCD110/5 36TMoving B. 2017-10-09 22:20
The #ovaltrick works great. Higher cadence, more speed, less shifting, preserved reserves and an easy switch to the big wheel ..
#115 Oval BOOSTThierry 2017-10-09 19:49
Great dealing with you guys!!! Good and efficient communication, fast shipping and great product!!!

Will definitely be back!!
#114 Chain ringsGary 2017-09-12 15:35
I have been riding Absoluteblack rings for almost 2 years. I love them. I felt the boost in power climbing right away. And felt I could push a small gear in the rear in most condition. Before I switched I was running a 32T so I ordered a 32 T. After riding the 32T for about a couple of months I felt I could run a bigger ring and help out my top end. So I ordered a 34. It's been great. I live in a rolling hills area in NC. I thought I might struggle with climbs in the MTNs with the 34. But the oval makes it do able. I have ridden all over the NC mountains and made a trip to Co. (rode some crazy steep big MTNs) had no issues with the 34x11-42. I am thinking of going to a 36x11-46 the next time I have to replace the chain and cassette. I will be a lifer on oval rings!
#113 Oval chainringsKempeneers 2017-08-30 13:17
Just have the oval chainrings on my new Bike for a few days Now . Was already just riding them with rotor but the AB rings are much more smoother while pedaling . They feel really good , are lighter than rotor rings , better look and cheaper . Very happy with them , no problems shifting with E-tap !
#112 50-34 110-5 bolt ShimanoJeff B 2017-08-24 06:03
Absolutely the best! I have been using Q rings for the past 2 seasons and I am so glad I found Absolute Black, no doubt 100% smoother than the competition Could not find a replacement ring for my Shimano 5 bolt... Look no further as this is the "Real Deal"with awesome Customer service
#111 52/38 oval chainringsAndrew 2017-08-02 21:18
What s fantastic product... bought for my son a budding time trialist.. last night he set his fifth consecutive PB over both the 10 and 25 mile distances shedding 3:30 off his 25 mile PB and 1:30 off his 10 mile PB... these chain rings really suit the lighter rider maximising power output and overcoming the lack of body mass in the less efficient part of the pedal stroke... can't wait for the 54t ring...
#110 SRAM GXP 32t chainringDave B. 2017-07-09 16:17
Just brought this as part of a conversion to 1X11 - seriously impressed with the conversion, but especially your chainring. Firstly, it only took one day from order to deliver, better than the 3-5days advertised and allowed me to do the conversion and go riding today. Secondly - well finished product which fits perfectly without any problems. And finally I really like the feel of your chainring when pedalling - it's so smooth. I do like the uphills, and it felt much easier to spin up them. It's almost like free power. I'm old enough to have used Biopace, (which was useless) and was a little sceptical about the benefits, but am so far convinced. I will be using these on any new bikes in the future. I ride currently ride a Whyte 729. Cheers Dave
#109 Oval RaceFace Cinch direct mount chainring 26tDave S. 2017-07-07 00:28
I recently installed your 26t oval chainring on my hardtail carbon 27.5
Norco Mtn Bike. I'm incredibly impressed with this product and here's why.

I'm a pure climber, that's ALL I DO!! I only ride uphill! I'm a 50 yr old
retired male who bikes up forest roads in the US to Forest Fire Lookouts.
The national forests of the Western US are full of these lookout towers. A typical ride is a 4000 ft climb in 8 miles via a gravel road. This is my
hobby and I gear my bikes to be pure climbing bikes.

Your oval chainring had the following benefits for me:
1. Less aerobic fatigue
2. Less leg fatigue during and less residual knee ache after.
3. Faster climbing times
4. Eliminated stops to 'catch my breath.' Less taking of breaks.
5. Allowed me to stop taking rest days between brutal climbs.
#108 Absolute Black 50T outer and 34T inner oval chainringsHarald H. 2017-06-25 19:19
I was curious to try these after accidentally finding them online. I can't believe how much of a difference they have made on my road bike. My cadence is much more efficient and I'm actually faster. Overall, this product is legit!
#107 Oval xt m8000 36TNiels 2017-06-10 22:29
Bought oval XT M8000 36t for my Scott spark rc 900 pro. It fits perfect. I have sufficient clearance on the frame however I had to shave a bit off the chain guide. Riding is very natural.
#106 PREMIUM OVAL ROAD 110/5 BCD CHAINRING FOR SRAM 52/34TPaul Glover 2017-06-09 13:14
Bike Porn at its very best. I thought moving from round to oval might be a test, but not so. Apart from moving to SRAM eTap, the easiest bicycle transition I have made. As well as ease of riding, this has improved my performance and also just made the bike a talking point wherever it goes, Dubai, Sydney, Cape Town - always an attraction and works too - bargain!
#105 110 BCD Outer and inner chainringsKaymo 2017-06-01 01:00
Looking at the Absoluteblack website I was intrigued. After reading reviews, I knew I wanted to try the chainrings. I have been riding a Shimano Ultegra 11-speed drive train with a stock 52/36 crank. As a start, I ordered the 36T Absoluteblack chainring.

Installation was simple: Remove the crank (this also gives you an opportunity to inspect your bottom bracket and properly torque the crank after re-installing). I watched the installation video on Absoluteblack’s website. Note: I needed a T30 Torx, not T25, to remove the stock Shimano bolts holding the small chainring against the big chainring. I didn’t have to raise or lower my front derailleur, and I continued using the same chain (it was relatively new). No need to remove links.

My first ride was interesting. If you don’t think about it, you may not notice any difference in your ride. Focusing on my pedaling, I noted more “fluidity” in spinning the cranks. I’d agree with others that these chainrings do make you a better pedaler and, perhaps, a bit more conscious of when to shift or if you’ve shifted too soon. If I slow cadence just a bit or get a little bit ahead of myself pedaling faster in a low gear, I’ll get what I call the “clank”, the sound of your pawls in your freewheel engaging and taking-up just that little bit of chain slack. I think (and I could be wrong) this has something to do with turning over the crank from its most oval to least oval. Another reason to pedal with a smooth cadence. All said, while it could be the “placebo-effect” of me wanting to notice a difference, I think I do—even riding up hills seems just a bit easier and now can I say it: more controlled, more even with each downward push of the pedal making the bike climb more steadily. I liked the inner ring enough that I since have bought the outer ring. I can report the same feeling and results with it.

It’s worth mentioning that the outer ring is finished beautifully. Nice anodizing and the design in the ring makes the bike stand-out. It looks good on the bike.
#104 28 tooth oval 64 bcdchristopher frolich 2017-05-16 00:40
great product. I instantly noticed less knee strain with the ovalized chainring
#103 28T oval chainringMario Turcotte 2017-05-03 23:49
Amazing product! I just switched from 2x10 to 1x10 using your 28T oval with a Sunrace 11-42 cassette on my Trek Fuel EX8. I'm not a strong climber, yet this past Saturday I tried every single climb I could, and there are many at my favourite trails center, many have roots as well, and I powered right through them!! Never needed to put a foot down or walk up a climb. I'm really, really glad I converted over to 1X10 using your oval chainring!! Thanks for a great product!
#102 36T Shimano 4B Road OvalRichard 2017-04-14 07:22
Difficult to describe the feeling but I can say that you cannot feel the difference in pedalling action. However that said I can absolutely say that Cadence has increased along with smoothness, it's a very subtle effect. If you are unconvinced try the small ring first. Point to note this is not going to turn you into Peter Sagan, but you will feel better after a ride and pedal more smoothly. I am now purchasing the Large Oval to see the effect. Also zero chain drops or problems on a 3 hour ride.

Richard, Suffolk
#101 36t an ovalJustin 2017-04-05 06:47
Last week I converted my Specialized carbon Stumpjumper HT to a 1x10 with 36t ab oval chainring and an 11-42 cassette. I was taking a bit of a risk riding the new setup in one of the gnarliest XC races I've ever ridden, but on Saturday that's what I did. XC race SoNoMás is 34 miles long with 7,000ft of climbing (not a typo!) and the 36t x 11-42 was purrrrfect. 8th place, cat 1. Granted, I did need my granny gear, but I didn't need more. This is my second bike now sporting an ab oval ring, and I have total confidence in the Absolute Black product.
#100 Oval CX/Gravel 1X Direct Mount SramHerman 2017-03-29 11:30
Wonderful product, am pleasantly surprised by the smooth rotation of the pedals!!
I have no time having to get used to the Oval,rides great!!
I'm going to mount them on my other bikes i am a fan for sure!!
Thanks Guy's
View the pics of my Koga Beach racer with Oval in the Gallery!!
#99 Race face direct mountLee 2017-03-14 10:06
I've ridden for years but sometime ago l developed severe knee pain some hours after riding. The pain was so bad it either kept me awake at night or woke me up. I was getting to the point where l was looking to give up riding.

By pure chance l read the oval rings could relieve knee pain. I was hopeful but sceptical. After 12 months of using the ring, l've never looked back. No pain at all. I did have a twinge after a couple of weeks and thought I'd found a short lived solution, but it was a one off. A life saver for me.

In terms of how the ring feels to use, l can't say l've ever noticed the ovalisation. Power delivery is definitely smoother, but from my perspective that's just and added bonus.

Just ordered another ring for a new bike.
#98 Oval 104bcd 30tJake 2017-02-02 21:29
I converted my 2x10 to 1x11 and chose the 30t oval and Shimano 11/46 cassette to keep the lowest gear ratio close to what the 2x10 provided. It turned out perfect. Just as advertised, it is easier on steep climbs with less stress on my knees, I really notice the difference.
#97 Winter oval road chainringsAlan Renshaw 2017-01-10 21:26
I have been running my single oval ring now for almost 4 months and approximately 5 weeks ago purchased 2 winter road rings and a bash guide to go on my mountain bike. As usual the quality is superb, fitting instructions very clear and the customer service second to none. The oval rings continue to impress me and have made a genuine difference to my riding particularly as suffer from osteoarthritis in both knees. There does not seem to be as much stress on my knees and they don't ache when I have completed my rides. I am so pleased with the oval rings I am going to purchase 2 premium oval road rings for my carbon road bike once winter is over. Keep up the good work, the futures bright the futures oval.
#96 Road Premium Oval Chains RingJoe 2017-01-06 21:00
Hi Absolute Black,

Setup:Shimano 5800 105 50/34.
After a month of riding on your prem. oval chains rings I have nothing negative to say. I'm absolutely impressed how well they shift, which was my biggest fear. If your thinking of updating your 105 crank or ultegra crank don't, just slap on these chain rings and your good to go!
#95 Oval 104bcd 32tEthan 2016-12-28 23:12
I got an 11-36 casette with a two by, And I switched to the absolute black oval chain ring, and it felt like I had the same range of a two-by. It also doesn't lose traction under power. I can't recommend this enough